Wonder Woman Fitness

Cleansing Diet

Posted on: October 18, 2010

Holidays - Spain

This is the life!!!!

Hi folks, as you can see I have been away on my holidays, I am just back with a new blog for you, enjoy 🙂

Healthy eating

The Cleansing Diet

Like most people and certainly most women I battle with my weight be it wanting to lose a few pounds to a bit more. I only ever want to lose a bit of weight so I am lighter to carry my huge bulk around my runs and also when I enter my first triathlon in April I would really like to be 10kg lighter, we can but hope.

The problem I have is I love my food. No I really do!! I live to cook and more importantly I love to eat so there lies my problem there isn’t a food I won’t eat!!! I also have a condition which is called Ulcerative Colitis which is a life long condition of the small intestine. At its worse it can really be a debilitating condition as you are constantly at the toilet and you can suffer from pains and discomfort. However I have had this condition for almost 6 years and I am living an active, happy and normal life. I can still eat, drink and exercise. Although, recently I had a flare up of my condition which meant being put on a course of steroids by my GP. Now I am used to doing this however I thought that maybe if I can change my diet and cleanse my body it would help my body heal better and save me having to take more medication. Plus steroids make me look like a hamster lol [Symbol]

The following blog is about my experience on a cleansing diet. It was not specifically designed for ulcerative colitis sufferers, it is taken form a book called ‘Clean and Lean Diet’ by James Dugan. In this book he talks about what foods are toxic to your body and what are the best things to put in your body. Now I do not usually read or follow ‘diets’ but this book really made me think about what I put in my body and I read it from cover to cover. So if you are intrigued read on and I would recommend this to anyone who suffers from IBS, Ulcerative Colitis and also Chrome’s Disease and also anyone who would like to cleanse their insides and maybe lose a few pounds in the process. I would recommend that you do it for no longer than 7 days though. Enjoy [Symbol]

Day 1:

I am having nutritious food but I am completely craving carbs. All I want is to eat a whole loaf of bread with some real butter [Symbol] I am not missing fruit however I am suffering from headaches which could possibly be from carb withdraw. Hoping that day 2 is going to be better, not really enjoying this. I cheated tonight as I had a cereal bar when I got home the carb craving was so bad but apart from that I followed the plan.

Day 2:

I woke up feeling great today. I had no cravings and no headaches also I felt cleaner and lighter. As I did not eat any carbs yesterday (we will ignore the cereal bar!!) I did not feel bloated at all and had energy.

Day 3:

Oh no, woke up feeling terrible [Symbol] and had a sore stomach. So I decided to swap my breakfast for some porridge as a carb kick. However as I prepared my porridge I suddenly didn’t feel the need for it. This approach to food has made me re-think how food affects my colitis and how it affects how I feel. Although porridge is a healthy breakfast I knew it would make me feel sluggish and more heavy and plus it was only day 3 of the ‘diet’ I couldn’t give in yet!!!!

Day 4:

Had such a craving for something sweet last night and I did not think I had a sweet tooth lol [Symbol] It has been suggested by the author of the ‘Clean and Lean Diet’ that if you have cravings you can take Glutamine which has numerous health benefits such as: promoting the maintenance of a healthy digestive tract, may promote mental alertness and improve mood and memory, may boost immune function and fight infection, helps prevent muscle loss and most importantly if you have a sweet tooth it may decrease sugar cravings and the desire for alcohol!!!! Plus it is good for people who suffer from colitis so I will give it a go.

I was completely addicted to coffee, my regular would be 1 ½ teaspoons of coffee, 1 teaspoon of sugar and some milk, and that would be 4 – 5 times a day minimum!!!! Now I have realised that this may not be the best for me. So I have changed my coffee for some real espresso coffee (2 a day) some cinnamon (natural sweetener) and some organic whole milk and voila it does the trick I don’t seem to need anymore coffee and I sleep so soundly as I am not taking caffeine after lunch time

Day 5:

Woke up feeling great today. I was quite relieved that my weight hadn’t dropped anymore. I had lost 4lbs in 4 days which for me was too much. Still staying on track with the correct food.

Day 6:

I tried to train today and found I did not have enough energy for the type of training that I do. I think this diet approach is ideal for 6 – 12 days. People should not do this for more than 12 days as it is meant to be a clean out. If like me you exercise try not to exercise whilst doing this but only keep to the diet for max of 7 days. I know that today is my last day as I want to train now. However I will definitely come back to this if my colitis has flared up or if I have over indulged!!!! I would recommend this to anyone to at least try it for 6 – 7 days, remember though that the first few days will be very hard especially if like me you based your diet on carbs before. I will now have only one meal each day with carbs and one snack so I am not overloading myself with carbs. I will also have one cheat day a week where for one meal I can have whatever I want mmmmmm……….. and I’m sure sticky toffee pudding will be that meal [Symbol]

Ok, so what did I eat? Here it is.

Day 1 – 3:

B:  Scrambled eggs (1), cup full of raw spinach and 50g smoked salmon

S:  75g cooked chicken and raw veg mix

L:  Salad: 100g ham, ¼ avocado, raw spinach, tomatoes, cucumber, mixed salad leaves

S: Small handful of mixed seeds

D: Smoked mackerel fillet and green veg

Day 4 – 6:

B: 100g smoked salmon and chopped cucumber

S: 75g cooked chicken and raw veg mix

L: Salad as above

S: 1 tablespoon of hummus and raw veg mix

D: 100g roast chicken, roasted peppers and broccoli

Day 7 – 9:

B: 2 boiled (or scrambled) eggs, red peppers and ¼ avocado

S: 100g turkey and 2 oatcakes

L: Salad as before

S: 1 tablespoon of hummus and raw veg mix

D: Salmon fillet (or any fish fillet) with veg of your choice but no potatoes

Rules:

•Drink plenty water

•Limit caffeine intake to 2 cups of tea or coffee a day

•No alcohol

•No carbs i.e. potatoes, bread, pasta etc and no fruit

•Where there are no measurements for the food (veg, salad etc) have as much as you want

•You can do this for 2 weeks if you want but I found 7 days was enough to feel the difference

•Use this diet whenever you are feeling bloated etc (only have to do it for 2 – 3 days) as this will sort your insides out

Until next time, keep active folks…….



Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

Post Calendar

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
